A quick cinema note.

I just realize that I did not go even once into a theater to see a movie last year… Actually it has been becoming a very seldom experience for us the last 5 years or so, and there are multiple (and not so interesting) reasons for that. Of course there is the DVD and movie channels, but even though I feel completely outdated for cinema, and I finally found myself enjoying rather unusual things.

One thing I really dig is the animated movies from Hayao Miyazaki, which is cool when you have young kids.

Japanese trailer for 千と千尋の神隠し (“Spirited Away”  – “Le voyage de Chihiro”)

Miyazaki is an acclaimed author. And you don’t need to be hard-core fan of Manga style (I am not) to like it. The music of the films is great too, very symbiotic.

***

Also lately and in a completely different style I watched the full version of 1980 movie Flash Gordon for the first time. I remember that movie quite well when it came out, being a fan of Queen then (still am), and my mates and I would find that video clip very funny. But I never saw the entire movie actually, until two days ago.

Flash Gordon – Official movie Trailer

Well… that was a real find. This movie is a masterpiece of kitsch and cheesiness in its own right. It has goofy special effects, hilarious costumes, probably one of the worst first role acting performance ever, an eclectic whilst perfect second-role distribution (Melody Anderson, Timothy Dalton, Ornella Muti, Max Von Sydow, Brian Blessed as Prince Vultan aka “Diiiive!”) and involves obvious, unsubtle sexual arousal (Ornella Muti in her red spandex suit…).

Also I believe it has one of the most cult phrase of history, when Dale Arden (Melody Anderson) shout:

“Flash I love you… but we only have fourteen hours to save the Earth”

A must see… Hilarious. After that you probably will find that most contemporary SciFi movies are depressingly dead serious. Now the challenge would be to make a parody of it which seems quite impossible.

Below is the Queen movie clip of the well-known song. The clip is actually very close to the movie trailer and it has the funnier-than sinister laugh by Ming and most other memorable bits in the background. Queen was the perfect band to make a tune for that movie.

Leave a Reply

