The American way

Few days ago I missed to renew my sons sport session on-line at their website, and when I checked it out the slots were of course already all full.

So I went there with the idea to talk to a manager and ask if it would be possible to put them on a waiting list.

I enter a first office.

– Hi, how can I help you ?
– Hi, I have a question about registration
– Yeah ? …
– I missed the online registration for my 2 sons. They are currently having sessions here for the third time. And I would like to know if they can be put on a waiting list.
– mmh… I am not responsible for registration. Ask the guys downstairs.
– Thanks, have a nice day.
– Yeah, you too.

Nobody on the office downstairs, but there was a girl supervising the undergoing session.

– Hi, how can I help you ?
– Hi, …hmm… it is about registration for the next session.
–  …
– As I said to your colleague upstairs I missed the online registration and the slots are now full. I have 2 kids having sessions here. Do you know if they can be put on a waiting list or whatsoever ?
– mmh… I am not responsible for that….but… see the guy with the blue shirt over there ? He’s our manager, ask him.
– Ah.. thanks…
– My pleasure, have a nice day.
– Have a nice day.

I wait for the guy in blue to finish his conversation with a mom and went to him.

– Hi, how are you today ?
– good, and how are you today ?
– good…
– how can I help you ?
– Well.. I missed the registration for my sons who are having sessions here. I would like to know if they can be put on a waiting list.
– Yeah.. sure… with some of the students upgrading there will be available slots for sure. Some will move up you know…
– Great…
– But… I can’t do that myself. The best you can do is that you give us a call. The phone number is on our website. Call as soon as possible and they’ll be put on the waiting list.

 

I finally gave a phone call. I was asked to first re-check on the website and call back later-on if it is not OK. Stupid I was… actually new slots were created and I managed to register my sons. The confirmation mail came smoothly after I proceed the payment.

Leave a Reply

