Look at this…

 

… carefully.

On this checker, square ‘B’ is obviously lighter than square ‘A’. So the gradient drawn between A and B is obviously… a monochrome gradient made from darker tone ‘A’ to lighter tone ‘B’, right ?

Now scroll down this post…

 

 

10…

 

9…

 

8…

 

7…

 

6…

 

5…

 

4…

 

3…

 

2…

 

1…

 

 

The following image is the very same as above, except that I did copy&paste areas from square ‘A’ and ‘B’ on the upper-left corner.

 

 

 

Actually ‘A’ and ‘B’ are the exact same tone.

And of course there is no gradient in between, but instead a band of the very same tone.

The 'A' and 'B' squares cut from the original image

Now are you still sure you can see the world in b+w properly ?

 

4 thoughts on “Look at this…

  1. This image has been freaking me out for years! However, I experience this during real world shootings quite frequently. Not uncommon for me to look at a scene while I’m doing night photography and think two key elements are about two stops apart. Aim the spot meter on both and they come back reading the same.

    • I was thinking about finding a famous pic where this could be obvious. There are probably many but it will be a hell of wasted time…

      This also reminds me a sort of trick that I sometime use when I want to better figure out the contrasts in a scene, which consist on closing the eyes almost completely. I guess it is a rudimentary zone-system experience. And it kind of works with that image (at least to me), I can see the ‘A’ and ‘B’ are in the same zone.

Leave a Reply

