Rephotography in North End (1)

I have been in North End, on the footprints of Jules Aarons for doing some rephotography. I took the book “Into the streets” with me. It includes a selection of street photographs made by Aarons in Boston between 1947 and 1976 mostly in West End and North End. Finding the places he shot in West End is nearly impossible today because the area has been heavily refurbished (“revitalized”) since then. There is very few left of the old buildings and the street plan has changed completely.

But on the contrary North End has evolved very smoothly, and I was able to find 9 corresponding spots.

Some were very easy to spot and I knew them before (such as the playground near North Square). For some I needed to make my brain work a little, and some others I got external help from local people. And by the way that was the nicest part of the job, I will elaborate on that later on.

So to begin with here is one shot I did:

Jules Aarons rephoto (1/9)

… and what I suggest is that you find out the corresponding photograph from Jules Aarons. It is rather easy to look it up using Google.

Leave a Reply

