Interview with Emmet Gowin (link)

Following to the post below I thought it was insightful to share this interview from Emmet Gowin that Andre provided to me.

It might take us a lifetime to find out what it is we need to say. Most of us fall into where our feelings are headed while we’re quite young. But the beauty of all this uncertainty would be that in the process of exhausting all the possibilities, we might actually stumble unconsciously into the recognition of something that’s useful to us, that speaks to a deep need within ourselves. At the same time, I like to think that in order for any of us to really do anything new, we can’t know exactly what it is we are doing.

So we can’t possibly know what it is we really need. At least, from the view point of originality, we can’t. And still there can be a good sense to what all our drives and needs are expressing. Our younger son, Isaac, and I were having a very serious conversation about all of the really difficult things when I was reminded of my own kinship to his older brother, Elijah, who is also an artist. What was really important to Elijah, was often something he could not or would not say – Isaac got me to see this. Isaac, on the other hand, told me, “Go ahead, Dad, ask me anything you want. But remember, I’m going to tell you the truth. I’m going to tell you what really is the case. So you have to be careful what you ask.” And I took a deep breath and said, “You know, that ‘s why I so identified with your brother. That is part of why it is so wonderful that he became an artist. What really matters to him, he can not tell you directly, and that’s exactly how I was at his age. Everything that really mattered, I couldn’t tell anybody.”

Of course, this is one of the really important things about art, that you can make more than you can understand at the moment the thing is being made. But the gap between what we recognize inside ourselves – our feelings- and our ability to trust ourselves and to trust exposing ourselves to those ideas, can be great (…).

the full interview here: http://www.johnpaulcaponigro.com/lib/artists/gowin.php

One thought on “Interview with Emmet Gowin (link)

Leave a Reply

